From Lusatia to the stars

With the German Center for Astrophysics, we are building a large-scale research center with a forward-looking scientific program, a center for digitalization that will bring together data streams from astronomical observatories around the globe, and a center for the latest technologies that will cooperate closely with industry and existing technology centers in Saxony and worldwide. Görlitz has been designated as the location for this.

We are also conducting research in the granite of Lusatia, a place of greatest seismological tranquility. An underground research laboratory, the Low Seismic Lab, is to be built there. For this reason, we have invested the funds of the concept phase in a test drilling in the Ralbitz-Rosenthal community. Beyond the DZA, we are proposing Lusatia as the site of the Einstein telescope. This would be the ideal complement for the DZA and, once again, a tremendous economic boost for the region.

The DZA is a joint initiative of German astronomy and astroparticle physics. Numerous strong partners from science, industry, politics and society support our proposal.

Facts & Figures

  • 2 locations: Görlitz and between Hoyerswerda, Kamenz and Bautzen
  • More than 350 scientific, 350 technical, 200 administrative and 100 training positions directly at the DZA
  • Vocational training from daycare on
  • International Astrophysics Data Center
  • Low Seismic Lab: Underground laboratory 200 meters deep in Lusatian granite
  • Possible location for the Einstein telescope
Image
Sobudźěłaćerka mechaniskeje dźěłarnje při DESY

Where knowledge becomes reality

We do not conduct research in a quiet chamber; we promote and depend on exchange with business and industry. For new astronomical sensor systems, optics, modern control techniques and high-performance green computing solutions

Cooperating companies (PDF)                  

Transfer partners of the DZA (PDF)               

Cooperating non-university research institutions (PDF)

What is planned where?

The campus in Görlitz

The city of Görlitz is an excellent location for the DZA due to its location to the granite massif, its proximity to the university cities of Dresden, Wroclaw and Prague and due to the promising new settlements in the innovation and high-tech sector. We are planning to establish an open campus for cutting-edge research here on the Kahlbaum site, embedded in the city. Through joint appointments, the TU Dresden and the University of Wroclaw will also be places of activity for the DZA.

Image
Research center in Görlitz

Laboratory in the granite stock of Lusatia

The Low Seismic Lab in the granite of Lusatia is planned in the region between Hoyerswerda, Kamenz and Bautzen. The lab could be the tying point for the Einstein telescope and form a corner of the planned triangular gravitational wave observatory. The exact location in the triangle between Hoyerswerda, Bautzen and Kamenz has not yet been determined. The decision is to be made in the course of the construction phase with the help of further test drillings in the granite of Lusatia.

We create a place of absolute calm: the "seismic zero".

Image
Low Seismic Lab

Astrophysics - research at the limit of the possible

New observatories receive various "messengers" of the universe, such as light signals of different wavelengths. It is no longer just optical telescopes that provide information about our cosmos: Astronomy's "eyes" have been joined by "ears," so to speak; we measure cosmic rays, neutrinos, and now gravitational waves - the reverberations of spectacular events in the depths of space. This requires the most sensitive and accurate measurement techniques - and an ideal interference-free environment such as we find in the granite stock of Lusatia.

Why in Saxony?

Saxony is a high-tech state with a long tradition. The conditions here are excellent: the location in the center of Europe, universities and colleges with a scientific, technological focus, many scientific connecting points, also cross-border. There are also many partners in the region in the areas of technology development and data processing, from the TU Dresden to Silicon Saxony.

Above all, however, Lusatia is sitting on a treasure - the unique seismographic conditions in the granite rock of Lusatia, which we want to use for our research and development of new devices. And last but not least, we have met people who are firmly rooted in their region and at the same time bring great openness and curiosity with them. All this makes Saxony an ideal location for the DZA.

Saxony is a high-tech state in the center of Europe.

Von der Lausitz zu den Sternen

Mit dem Deutschen Zentrum für Astrophysik bauen wir ein Großforschungszentrum mit einem zukunftsweisenden wissenschaftlichen Programm, ein Zentrum für Digitalisierung, das die Datenströme astronomischer Observatorien rund um den Globus zusammenführt, und ein Zentrum für neueste Technologien, das eng mit der Industrie und bestehenden Technologiezentren in Sachsen und weltweit kooperiert. Dafür ist Görlitz als Standort vorgesehen.

Zudem betreiben wir Forschung im Granit der Lausitz, einem Ort größter seismologischer Ruhe. Dort soll ein Untergrundforschungslabor, das Low Seismic Lab, entstehen. Aus diesem Grund haben wir die Mittel der Konzeptphase in eine Probebohrung in der Gemeinde Ralbitz-Rosenthal investiert. Über das DZA hinaus schlagen wir die Lausitz als Standort des Einstein-Teleskops vor. Dies wäre die ideale Ergänzung für das DZA und nochmals ein gewaltiger wirt­schaftlicher Impuls für die Region.

Das DZA ist eine gemeinsame Initiative der deutschen Astronomie und Astroteilchen­physik. Zahlreiche starke Partner aus Wissenschaft, Wirtschaft, Politik und Gesellschaft unterstützen unseren Vorschlag. 

Zahlen & Fakten

  • 2 Standorte: Görlitz und zwischen Hoyerswerda, Kamenz und Bautzen
  • Über 350 wissenschaftliche, 350 technische, 200 administrative und 100 Ausbildungsplätze direkt am DZA
  • Berufliche Bildung von der Kita an
  • Internationales Astrophysik-Datenzentrum
  • Low Seismic Lab: Untergrundlabor 200 Meter tief im Lausitzer Granit
  • Möglicher Standort für das Einstein-Teleskop
Image
Employee in the mechanical workshop at DESY

Wo Wissen Wirklichkeit wird

Wir forschen nicht im stillen Kämmerlein, wir fördern den Austausch mit Wirtschaft und Industrie und sind auf ihn angewiesen. Für neue astronomische Sensorsysteme, Optiken, moderne Regelungstechniken und hoch­leistungsfähige Green-Computing-Lösungen.

Kooperierende Firmen (PDF)                  

Transferpartner des DZA (PDF)               

Kooperierende außeruniversitäre Forschungs­einrichtungen (PDF)

Was ist wo geplant?

Der Campus in Görlitz

Die Stadt Görlitz ist aufgrund ihrer Lage zum Granitmassiv, ihrer Nähe zu den Universitätsstädten Dresden, Wroclaw und Prag und durch die vielversprechenden Neu­ansiedlungen im Innovations- und Hoch­technologie­sektor ein hervorragender Standort für das DZA. Wir planen hier einen offenen Campus für Spitzen­forschung auf dem Kahlbaum-Areal zu errichten, eingebettet in die Stadt. Durch gemeinsame Berufungen werden auch die TU Dresden und die Universität Wroclaw Wirkungs­orte für das DZA sein.

Image
Research center in Görlitz

Labor im Granitstock der Lausitz

Das Low Seismic Lab im Granit der Lausitz ist in der Region zwischen Hoyerswerda, Kamenz und Bautzen geplant. Das Labor könnte der Anknüpfungspunkt für das Einstein-Teleskop sein und eine Ecke des geplanten dreieckigen Gravitationswellen-Observatoriums bilden. Der genaue Standort im Dreieck zwischen Hoyerswerda, Bautzen und Kamenz steht noch nicht fest. Die Entscheidung soll im Laufe der Aufbauphase mit Hilfe weiterer Probebohrungen im Granit der Lausitz fallen.

Wir erzeugen einen Ort absoluter Ruhe: die „seismische Null”.
Image
Low Seismic Lab

Astrophysik – Forschung an der Grenze des Möglichen

Neue Observatorien empfangen verschiedene „Boten“ des Universums, also etwa Lichtsignale unterschiedlicher Wellenlängen. Es sind nicht mehr nur optische Teleskope, die Aufschluss über unseren Kosmos liefern: Zu den „Augen” der Astronomie sind sozusagen „Ohren” hinzugekommen; wir messen kosmische Strahlung, Neutrinos und nun auch Gravitationswellen – den Nachhall spektakulärer Ereignisse in den Tiefen des Weltalls. Dafür sind die empfindlichsten und genauesten Messtechniken notwendig – und eine ideale störungsfreie Umgebung wie wir sie im Granitstock der Lausitz finden. 

Warum in Sachsen?

Sachsen ist ein Hochtechnologieland mit langer Tradition. Die Voraussetzungen hier sind hervorragend: Die Lage im Zentrum Europas, Universitäten und Hochschulen mit einem naturwissenschaftlichen, technologischen Schwerpunkt, viele wissenschaftliche Anknüpfungspunkte, auch grenzüberschreitend. Auch in den Bereichen Technologieentwicklung und Datenverarbeitung gibt es von der TU Dresden bis zum Silicon Saxony viele Partner in der Region.

Vor allem aber sitzt die Lausitz auf einem Schatz - den einzigartigen seismographischen Bedingungen im Granitgestein der Lausitz, die wir für unsere Forschung und Entwicklung neuer Geräte nutzen wollen. Und nicht zuletzt haben wir Menschen kennengelernt, die in ihrer Region fest verwurzelt sind und gleichzeitig große Offenheit und Neugier mitbringen. Das alles macht Sachsen zu einem idealen Standort für das DZA.

Sachsen ist Hochtechnologieland im Zentrum Europas.